PDA

توجه ! این یک نسخه آرشیو شده میباشد و در این حالت شما عکسی را مشاهده نمیکنید برای مشاهده کامل متن و عکسها بر روی لینک مقابل کلیک کنید : Talking about the present

faridbensaeed
9th July 2015, 05:01 PM
Talking about the present [khande][golrooz][cheshmak]

English has two main ways of talking about present time: the simple present and the present progressive.
THE SIMPLE PRESENT
You make the simple present by using the verb in its basic form. You add ‑s or ‑es to the verb in the third person singular.
The simple present is used in the following ways:
1- You use the simple present to talk about something which is happening now, and which will continue to happen in the future. You often use the simple present in this meaning to talk about things that are true about your life, for example where you live, your job, or the kinds of things you like.
Martin lives in Canada.
I work in a hospital.
"What kind of books do you read?” “I mostly read science fiction."
2- You use the simple present when you talk about something which happens again and again, or when you say that something happens regularly at a particular time. Use words such as always, often, sometimes, occasionally, and never, or phrases such as on Tuesdays or every day with the simple present in this meaning.
They often go out to restaurants.
I travel to London twice a month.
He gets up at 6 o'clock.
She goes to church every Sunday.
3- You use the simple present to talk about something which stays the same for ever - such as a scientific fact.
Oil floats on water.
Two and two make four.
4- You use the simple present when you are describing what is happening at the exact moment when you are speaking. This meaning of the simple present is used for example in sports commentaries.
Shearer gets the ball from Gascoigne. He shoots ‑ and scores!
file:///C:\Users\G6SERI~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\ 01\clip_image001.gif ! For descriptions of actions that are happening now, you usually use the present